2014 Teacher of the Year Nomination Form

Pattonville School District is seeking nominations for the district's Teacher of the Year. Pattonville will select a Teacher of the Year from each grade level — elementary school, middle school and high school — with teachers, counselors, librarians and instructional specialists being eligible. Previous elementary, middle school and high school winners are also eligible. One teacher from these three levels will be selected as Pattonville's Teacher of the Year and will be entered into the Missouri Teacher of the Year program sponsored by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education in conjunction with the National Teacher of the Year program. The winners will be honored during District Appreciation Night on May 5.

Nominees should be skilled, dedicated teachers who plan to continue teaching as a career. They should have the respect and admiration of students, parents and colleagues.

They should play active roles in their community, offering service and leadership in civic, religious or humanitarian activities, as well as in school. They should be poised and articulate and have the energy to withstand a busy schedule, plus the ability to meet people easily.

Please use the form on the reverse side to nominate a candidate. Give as much information as possible. The following are not eligible for this award: staff in administrative or supervisory positions, those who will retire or resign at the end of the year, previous district winners and those with a Performance Improvement Plan. **Nominations must be submitted by Friday, Feb. 7, 2014.** Send nominations to:

Teacher of the Year Selection Committee

Pattonville Community Relations Office Pattonville Learning Center 11097 St. Charles Rock Road St. Ann, MO 63074

Nominations can also be submitted electronically. A link for both the Teacher and Support Staff of the Year nomination forms is available on Pattonville's website at www.psdr3.org/nominate.

Previous Teachers of the Year

Zuline Simpson, Margaret Steinheimer, Frank Gallagher, Becky Hicks Kruse, Mary Ann Goldberg, Barbara Weekley, Peggy Kovach Koelling, Nancy Sebastian, Cynthia Kalkwarf, Jo Ellen Leeke, Gloria Fox, Randy Pierce, Lisa Zangriles, Kathy Oster, Jan Davenport, Carol Craig, Valerie Maxwell, Kerry Brown, Michelle Wagner, Dennis McFarland, Amy (White) Taylor, Dixie Tipton, Kevin Beckner, Chris Benbow, Diane Richardson, Phyllis Pasley, Julie Kampschroeder, Tracey Robinson, Abigail Williams, Beth Moritz

Eligibility Criteria:

Eligible:

- Any classroom teacher, pre-kindergarten through grade 12
 Counselors, librarians and instructional specialists
 - **Not Eligible:**
- · Persons in a supervisory capacity (based on state guidelines)
 - · Previous winners of the district title
 - · Staff members on a Performance Improvement Plan
- Persons planning on retiring or resigning at the end of the school year in which they are nominated
 SSD teachers are eligible for the SSD program (call 314-989-8288 for more information)

Recognition of Ineligible Nominees:

Nominees who are ineligible to be considered for this award will still receive recognition by their names being included on publicity materials. They will also be invited to be recognized by the Board of Education during a regular board meeting. The human resource department will contact any staff member who is on a Performance Improvement Plan who has been nominated explaining that the staff member is not eligible to proceed in the process.



Name of Nominee:	 	
School and Position:		

In the space below explain why you believe this teacher should be Pattonville's Teacher of the Year. Include ways this teacher has benefited Pattonville students, special job-related strengths and skills, personal qualities (attitude, initiative, creativity, etc.) and what the teacher does that is beyond normal expectations of a good teacher. (Feel free to use an additional page.)



Name of Nominator: